Dirt Roads and Dangerous Dogs!

The Pursuit of Waves.

I must say the last few days have been the most challenging of the entire trip. Since entering Mexico all of my normal conveniences have gone by the wayside. Phone, internet, and good ice cream are all things that are no longer so easy to come by. Yes they are all here but much harder to find. It has been really easy to get ourselves in deep and lose civilization entirely. Things that we normally take for granted become things we crave and constantly think about; connecting with loved ones becomes a constant thought. I so badly want to tell those people I am O.K. on a regular basis. I also am so used to having their support at the drop of a dime and I am so grateful for that. Instead I have have Robin….

After pedaling through the border we had the beauty of staying at the Dutton’s Trailer at K38 just south of Rosarito. For me, it doesn’t get better than this place. Three different waves within 30 seconds of the door. The bed to barrel factor couldn’t be higher! We spent only one day and two nights here, which included possibly the foggiest surf session of all time, but it was heavenly. Staying at K38 for a long stay is an easy thing to do and I am still bummin we are not there right now just kickin it. For me it is home. At least home on the ocean for I will always be a mountain boy! I caught so many waves, greatly improving my surfing. Making drops, doing cutbacks, and hackin lips; we were ready to start shredding the pavement. On the Bikes again…

Some days I really do wake up and wonder if pedaling from 9 to 5 is worth the endless search for waves. Some days I agree with the looks people give us…. That 180 degree head turn with a dropped jaw followed by the side to side head shake seen on a regular basis by older Mexican folks.  Mexico is a very challenging place with poor quality roads and no shoulders. Thankfully so far, most drivers have give us adequate space on the roads. Unfortunately the wild dogs have not. Several days ago, we had a German Shepard chase us full speed. Luckily we are fast as shit, and outran that sucker; avoiding an inevitable dose of Mexican rabies.

Taking things one day at a time is super important when a lot is on your mind. Baja is a huge place (over 1000 miles long) and envisioning our task on a map is very daunting. Robin has been my hero and savor in reminding me that life is all about now. “Abe, you need to take this one day at a time. Think about the things you are grateful for now, i.e. lunch, the views, or my sleeping pad. Just get your head outta of the clouds and think about the now.” Robin is a very strong person and without him I would be really struggling or even back at home. Thank You Robin.

Yesterday we rode over 50 miles which doesn’t sound like much, just another typical day. The catch was 30 of those miles were on dirt. We stopped for a relaxing lunch on the side of Mex 1 before hitting the dirt for the remainder of the day. The Plan was to get to Punta Cabras, a right hand wave that was suppose to be very good on a west swell which is what we had.  Both Robin and I were very confident on our route finding and directions that we received along the way. We knew we had to climb about 1000 feet of rough road before things leveled off. We rode about 10 miles on the dirt before things started to get tough. I took my first major fall over a cobblestone section. I have almost ridden 2000 miles and I still can’t get out of my pedals fast enough. The second fall came while climbing uphill. I thought I could make the section but didn’t have the necessary steam. Talk about being rattled to the core. Robin also took two falls, one of which was very scary fall and was a more high speed crash. Luckily I had my Go-Pro out to catch the tail end of the spill. I did go help him dust off and get back on his feet. We finished the ride last night just as it was getting dark only to find out the all of the land around us was fenced off by barbed wire. Without any spot to camp we decided to climb over a section of barbed wire and set up right on the beach. About 20 minutes later someone appeared outta nowhere. We hadn’t seen human life for hours. Where did this guy come from? Unnerved beyond belief, we gave an “Hola” looking into their headlamps. It turns out he owns the land and was happy to let us stay there, for a small fee of course! Scary! We woke up to find out we had taken the wrong road and were still 5 miles out of Punta Cabras, o well. After pedaling for a couple more hours past Punta Cabras we found some great surf and a hostel called Coyote Cal’s. A gringo owned hostel that is not to far off of being completely rad. Something died close to where we were told to set up our tent but besides that we have all of the luxuries of home.

All in the pursuit of Waves. It only takes one good drop or one good turn to get the stoke back up and have the head to keep on pedaling. The water is getting warmer, home is getting farther away, and English speakers are becoming less and less. We have finally entered the last frontier of California. The Baja. Tomorrow we will continue our journey and attempt to pedal another full day until we reach San Quintin. We have some killer photos and videos that we can’t upload right now, but stay posted!!

Thanks for all of the support
Love Always
Abe

3 thoughts on “Dirt Roads and Dangerous Dogs!

  1. Remember two things:
    there are no go backs and if wishes were fishes there’d be no dishes.
    So my sweet son, you know the next one : Make it count !!!!
    and life can only be lived a day at a time.
    xoxoxoxo
    with endless love and support
    Ma

Leave a Reply

